Menu

Kim McDougall Author

Valkyrie Bestiary, Prequel

...Read more

Valkyrie Bestiary, Book 1  

...Read more            

Valkyrie Bestiary, Book 2

...Read more

Snippet

In this scene, Kyra has just fought and wounded a poacher she found trying to trap a thunder of dragons. One little blue dragon keeps getting in her way.

I raised my sword for the killing blow.

And the clumsy blue dragon bumped into me again.

“Quit it!” I said turning my attention away from the unconscious poacher.

The dragon sat back on his haunches and watched me. His stubby wings flared open and closed like bellows breathing air into his lungs. He stood no taller than my hip, with dark blue scales on his limbs grading to lighter blue on his pear-shaped belly. He had the big, copper eyes of an anime character and a blunt snout, speckled with silver freckles. A soft fluff of blue feathers crested his head.

He was ridiculously cute.

“This is your fault.” I pointed my sword at the poacher. The little dragon wagged his tail.

...Read More

Dragons Don't eat Meat...

Take a look at the gorgeous paperback cover for Dragons Don't Eat Meat, art by Pamela Francescut.

Dragons Don't Eat Meat

Critter wrangler rule #2: When scary things run away, something scarier is coming.

Someone is killing dragons. And the killings point to a civil war brewing among the fae.

When Kyra finds an abandoned baby dragon, she doesn’t want to bring him home. But until she can hunt down his thunder and stop the dragon killers, she’s on babysitting duty. 

As a pest controller with a soft heart, Kyra already has an apartment full of rescues, including a basilisk who thinks he’s a turkey, a banshee nanny, and even a pygmy kraken. She might take care of them, but they also fill her need for family. And when that family is threatened, she’ll risk everything to save them. She’ll even join forces with the handsome and irritating captain of the city’s vigilante Guardians, who never fails to be around at her most undignified moments.

Along with a quirky cast of misfits and unruly critters, Kyra leaves the safety of Montreal Ward and travels through the dangerous Inbetween—the land beyond the protected city states, where magic is the only rule of law—to reunite the lost dragon with his thunder and stop a new and sinister force from invading their home. 

Fans of Kate Daniels and Fantastic Beasts will find something to love in this action-packed, Urban Fantasy tale set in a future version of Montreal. Book 1 of the thrilling new Valkyrie Bestiary series, Dragons Don’t Eat Meat is a true menagerie of quirky characters, adorable critters and dark magics.

Be sure to sign up for the Wrong Tree Press newsletter to get all the latest news about release dates. Pre-order info coming soon!

Visit Kyra's Blog, home of the Valkyrie Bestiary,