Kim McDougall Author

Valkyrie Bestiary Reading Order

The full length novels of the Valkyrie Bestiary should be read in order because there are definite character and story arcs to follow. The shorter novellas and novelettes add details to Kyra's backstory, and don't necessarily need to be read in any order to be enjoyed. 

The order below is the chronological order of the stories in Kyra's time. Click on any cover to read more about each book.

However, I would suggest reading books 1, 2 & 3 first, and then backtracking to the prequels. While the prequels all work well as standalone stories, readers may appreciate them more after being immersed in Kyra's world. 

Book 0.1 (Novelette)

The Last Door to Underhill

Pub date: July 27, 2021

Book 2 (full length novel)

Dervishes Don't Dance

Pub date: October 2020

Book 0.2 (Novella)

The Girl Who Cried Banshee

Pub date: May 27, 2021

Book 3 (full length novel)

Hell Hounds Don't Heel

Pub date: February 2021

Book 0.5 (Novelette)

Three Half Goats Gruff

Pub date: August 2020

Book 4 (full length novel)

Grimalkins Don't Purr

Pub date: September 23, 2021

Book 1 (full length novel)

Dragons Don't Eat Meat

Pub date: August 2020